Testimonials Shop News Specials Catalogue Contact Forum Blog My Account My Edibles
50 percent off when you pre order
50 percent off when you pre orderMulti Grafted VarietiesRare and Collectable treesUse these promo codes to get special offers when placing a new order
Forum Rules | Updates
<< Back to Daleys Fruit Tree Forum

apricot tree pruning

16 responses

sezza starts with ...
hi there, im a fruit tree novice. its september now and i may have left it too late to prune my apricot tree - big bertha... depends on who you ask and what article you read. attached is a pic of the tree in full fruit in dec last year (09). the poor tree is almost falling over. the weight of the fruit (i presume) broke a big limb last year and i dont want that again. i have no idea how old it is but it fruits big and loooooooots!! i feel confident to give it a good prune, but not sure if now is the right time in adelaide? should i not prune at all or just a light prune ie. the trunk/limb shoots? someone suggested spraying lime sulphur when im done, any other must do's for pruning during a wet winter? also any tips for netting a big bertha like such?
Pictures - Click to enlarge

Picture: 1

About the Author
sezza
Pooraka, SA
9th September 2010 10:06pm
#UserID: 4204
View All sezza's Edible Fruit Trees

Reply | | Remember to LIKE this Answer(0) LIKE this Question (0)
Itdepends says...
Apricots are supposed to be pruned in autumn- after fruiting- while still in leaf to give the wound time to heal before the weather gets wet. Apparently they're more prone to fungus. If you prune now you will take off a significant amount of this years fruit- and the wounds wont heal yet (as I'm assuming it's just about to flower).

Just thin the fruti to avoid too heavy a crop.